Andrés Iniesta: El Ilusionista

The only way to stop Iniesta vs Italy at Euro 2012

With Euro 2012 fever around, I couldn’t help but share this image of the magician, Andrés Iniesta as he dances around players as if on a dancing floor and not a footballing field. Andrés Iniesta, my favorite Football player, is nothing short of a true Artist, for what is a true Artist? One that take Art into its simplest form, and that is what Iniesta (Xavi Hernández and Andrea Pirlo) does with football, make it so simple playing it, leaving one breathless watching in the process.

Iniesta vs Croatia at Euro 2012

The only time I ever cried from watching a football match from joy, was during the semi-final match between Barcelona vs Chelsea in 2009, that magic moment, Iniesta’s goal for Barcelona, one of the most dramatic moment ever of pure joy, a magical resurrection from death, after all the agony of being defeated, a sudden split second of magic that turned everything around. It was Tolstoy who said, “A work of art is means of transmitting feeling”, that goal from Iniesta is nothing short of a work of art, transmitting the feeling of pure joy, magnificent moment it was. The memory of that goal is so sweet, I have made a photo-montage of the goal, it is on the wall on my room, every time I look at it, a smile appear on my face, recalling that joyful moment.

Iniesta’s goal on my wall in my room

And who could forget his brilliant goal at Soccer City when Spain won the 2010 World Cup final, he talk about the goal in poetry, ” I knew the defense won’t get to it, that the goalkeeper won’t get to it. I just have to wait for it to fall, for it to obey Newton’s Law. This time the apple was the ball and Newton’s head was my foot. I could hear silence

” I just have to wait for it to fall, for it to obey Newton’s Law. This time the apple was the ball and Newton’s head was my foot. I could hear silence”


When I was in Barcelona last year, I was told that about a cafe that Iniesta would hang out from time to time, I went to the place with a friend, Iniesta’s picture and his signature all over the place, we sat for three hours, waiting, hoping the magician would show up, well, of course he did not show up, maybe next time.

Here is to Don Iniesta: El Ilusionista 🙂

About Karzan Kardozi

Just another cinephile writing about Life and nothing more......
This entry was posted in Sport and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Andrés Iniesta: El Ilusionista

  1. Pingback: FC Barcelona in a Game of Chess | The Moving Silent

Leave a Reply

